On my to do list

I am sure you have all heard of / read Ali’s fab blog Domesticali.  One of her more recent posts listed her mental to do list for September 2008.  Those of you with children of a school age know that this starts to feel like the perfect time of year to start new things.  In fact if you have children who are no longer in the school routine, most probably your brain still works around the school year anyway. 

Ali listed down that she is starting a book binding course which sounds just fab.  unfortunately my time is limited due to the fact that hubby works overseas a lot and only one of my children is in full time education at the moment, although Martha has just started nursery two afternoons a week.  SO evening courses or even day courses are out for the next couple of years.

I, along with most crafty people, always have a HUGE list of things that i either must do, learn,  buy zilions of books on or just simply moan about wanting to do.  So i figured this year i would make a list and do them.  So i am commiting myself to them here and now

  1. Practise more yoga (i Love it) and be able to do a handstand by 2009 (notice i am not saying where in 2009)
  2. 2.Learn to knit socks (cue sock knitters everywhere “oh they are so easy……”
  3. De-clutter my house (suzannei may even try flylady tactics)
  4. re-string my guitar and take it up again – i used to be quite good
  5. Get an article published somewhere….anywhere
  6. this one probably wont happen but i will put it down for a laugh – this is to try and sneak a piano into the house without hubby noticing.

So sorry to steal your idea Ali, but i thought it was fab.  I will keep you all posted. 

ps the pose in the picture is called the camel and is one of my favourites although i dont look as toned as that unfortunately

5 Responses

  1. Ha, great list! I’m getting a bit weary of courses. I find that sometimes they’re like a diversional tactic of me, making me think that I’m all creative and learning something, and then they end, and I never pick up a sword again, or whatever I was doing there.

    I love yoga, only I never thought of having yoga goals. I’m happy if I manage to go through my yoga DVD once a week, that’s all.

    Socks are really easy once (and that’s the tricky bit) you get the hang on heels. As I said before, I’m happy to help you with this. I’ll even knit a sock and take pictures along the way.

    And you know that I’m cheering you on loudly with the guitar. Maybe we can help each other, I need to get in the habit of practicing again, too. (My students might notice when I’m playing worse than them, for one.)

    Also, I’m cheering you on with the writing.

    (Why do you need to sneak the piano into the house? Is your husband opposed to pianos? Or does he just think that there isn’t enough room? Everytime somebody says that I show him pictures of my former setup where my office chair banged into the side of the piano everytime I got up from my desk.)

  2. Oh, you’re so sweet. And that’s a meaty list you’ve got there. But the socks – they’re the one in the bank. If I can knit a sock, you can knit a sock. There are oodles of v. helpful internet tutorials. I know, I think I’ve studied most of them. But it’s worth it.

    I did yoga for about 10 years, but haven’t gone back since I had Johnny. Lazy me. I really enjoy it, so I don’t know why I dont make the effort.

  3. Glad you are back!! Visit when you have a minute.

  4. Jo,
    Just been on your blog for the first time in ages and thought I’d tell you that I did sneak a piano into the house without my husband noticing! I’ll tell you about it when I see you!

  5. Brilliant list…!
    One thing I do know is that its a lot easier to knit socks than declutter the house !!! Lol x

Leave a Reply

