First Sale

Well i have had my first sale from Folksy albeit a small one.  I have sold this hair slide.

hairslide-fabric1

So, i figured that i should make a little gift box for it following the marvellous tutorial from the one and only Lisa .  Obviously, after my lack of success with Etsy i didn’t expect to sell anything so soon, so had no card to make the box with.  Off i popped then with Martha in tow to our local craft shop where i was met with open arms as i haven’t been there for a while.  It would be nice to think they loved me because of me but most probably it is because of the amount of money i spend once i enter the doors.  Two pieces of card does not cost a lot, a bag full of beads, ribbons, new ring templates adds up to quite a bit.  Hoping to put a few rings in the shop when i have completed my bag orders.  If that ever happens, the beach bag is not going well although the internal zippered waterproof pocket using iron-on vinyl is a success.  Thanks to Julia for that tip. I have now run out of thread for the bag and invented new words this morning as i tried to complete it – failing miserably.  For the sake of my families sanity i have put it to one side for now, with the intention of completing it later. 

I also need to finish the bag for Martha and a bag for my sister-in-law which will be coming from my brother as a present.  So 3 sewing days left until Christmas – i can see a lot of caffeine being drunk over the next few days, especially as the children will be at home and Andrew will be at work. 

The thing is, when i have stuff that i SHOULD be doing, i end up having millions of creative ideas just popping into my head.  This happened when i was writing the book for Nanowrimo.  Halfway through the book, i had an amazing idea for a children’s book, which made me want to stop what i was doing and start that.  Luckily i didn’t.  But, i am trying my best to persevere with what i should be doing rather than what i want to do!  The children’s book though i intend to crack on with after Christmas.  I have big plans for it, especially since one of my old school friends is an illustrator.  Watch this space.  I am very excited.  Anyway to end, here are a few pictures of the box i made with the chocolates i have bought to send as little gifts with my purchases.  Obviously for health and safety i had to test them first………

0131

019

018

I hope all your Christmas plans are going well.

4 Responses

  1. Congratulations!!! It must feel great to sell something you made, I think I have to buy something from you too, because I definitely want that box of chocolate to go with it 🙂

  2. It’s the same way with me, that every time I have something I should be doing I have a million other creative ideas. I have taken it to be a sign that I am connected to the creative flow, so it’s a good thing. It doesn’t necessarily mean I have to act on all of those ideas because then nothing would ever get finished.

  3. Ooooh did you find some? Where!!?? xx x

  4. Congratulations on the Folksy sale. I only havre one item in there at the moment but one of my New Year resolutions is to make more of my shops and go for it. As for finding something else to do rather than what you should be doing is my unwritten middle name you now. Have a very Happy Christmas Joannna!

Leave a comment